Skip to main content.
Enviropaedia Sponsors and Supporters

Development Bank of Southern Africa


PO Box 1234
South Africa

Tel: 011 313 3911
Fax: 011 313 3086
Contact: Chantel Naidoo ~ Environmental Specialist

The Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA) is a development finance institution wholly owned by the South African government. The mandate of the Bank is to: fund infrastructure, broadly defined to include economic, social and institutional infrastructure; provide financial, technical and other assistance; and act as a catalyst to maximise private sector. In supporting infrastructure development, the Bank is guided by the principles of additionality, development impact, financial and environmental sustainability, risk management, complementarity with other development finance institutions, partnerships, and knowledge management.

The Development Bank operates in the Southern African Development Community (SADC). It has the following geographical Business Units: Gauteng, Free State and North-West; Kwazulu-Natal and Mpumalanga; Western and North Cape; Eastern Cape; Limpopo; and International Finance, which includes: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

In safeguarding the sustainability of infrastructure developments, the Bank has ully integrated environmental appraisal policies and procedures, and a well-established, competent team of environmental specialists and analysts who oversee implementation and compliance.